National Catholic Reporter

The Independent News Source

NCR Today

Chalk one up for the people

 | 

Tax subsidies for corporate interests are so common they are never news.  Often the argument is, "if you don't give us the tax break we will go somewhere else."  And it usually wins.  In one moment in time in Bath, Maine, the fear tactic did not work in its entirety. Largely because of the work of local activists.  Great to see a victory for the little guy, that is, us.

Queer Catholic Faith Webinar

 | 

Just got an announcement that DignityUSA, a ministry to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender Catholics, will host Richard Gaillardetz, Boston College theology professor and president of the Catholic Theological Society of America, as the featured speaker at DignityUSA's November Queer Catholic Faith Webinar Nov. 26 at  9 p.m. eastern time, 8 p.m.central, 7 p.m. mountain, 6 p.m. pacific.

Go here for details and to register.

Remembering the assassination that defined a generation

 | 

As I mentioned earlier, I am on sabbatical from my teaching position in Chicano studies at the University of California, Santa Barbara this fall and, as a result, have not written many blogs as I work on my biography of Fr. Luis Olivares and the sanctuary movement in Los Angeles. However, with all the attention recently on the 50th anniversary of President John F. Kennedy's assassination, I feel compelled to say a few words about President Kennedy's impact on me and on what I was doing the day of the assassination.

Where is the Medicaid outrage?

 | 

I wonder these days about the fast-food worker making a minimal wage who discovers he or she has diabetes and cannot afford insulin. Another low-wage worker (and we have far too many in this country) might be injured in an auto accident but can't afford rehabilitative care. These are some of the working poor who would benefit from Medicaid expansion. Yet more than 20 states are denying these people the health coverage they desperately need. Where is the outrage?

Pages

Subscribe to NCR Today

FRIENDS-ff.jpg

NCR Email Alerts