NCR writers among Religion Newswriters Association honorees

Several NCR writers received honors at the Religion Newswriters Association 2012 awards competition, held at the organization’s annual conference Oct. 4-6 in Bethesda, Md.

At the awards ceremony on the conference’s final night, NCR editor at large Tom Roberts received the top prize for his book The Emerging Catholic Church: A Community’s Search for Itself, named the Nonfiction Book of the Year.

Published by Orbis Books, The Emerging Catholic Church has sold more than 2,600 copies as of Tuesday. Roberts was named NCR editor in 2000, a position he held until 2008, when he became editor at large.

In the Religion Commentary of the Year category, NCR columnist Jamie Manson received second place, with Asra Nomani of The Daily Beast placing third and Religion News Service’s David Gibson taking the top honor.

Manson earned the award for her columns on St. Joseph’s hospital in Phoenix losing its Catholic identity, the fallout of same-sex marriage legislation passing in New York, and Archbishop Michael Sheehan’s 2011 letter admonishing divorcees and cohabitating couples.

We say: Charlottesville reveals the weeping wound of racism. What do we, the American Catholic faith community, do next? Read the editorial.

Staff writers Zoe Ryan and Joshua J. McElwee were both finalists in the Magazine News Religion Reporter of the Year category. Ruth Moon of Christianity Today finished first, Julia Duin of The Washington Post Magazine second, and Nadine Epstein of Moment magazine third.

Other Reporter of the Year winners in the competition included Tom Breen of The Associated Press (large newspapers and wire services); the Kansas City Star’s Judy Thomas (metropolitan newspapers); Peggy Stack of the Salt Lake Tribune (mid-sized newspapers); and Jennifer Preyss of The Victoria Advocate (small newspapers).

In the awards for best publication, Moment was named top magazine, and’s Belief Blog received the Schachern Award for Online Religion Section of the Year, with the news website also earning the Gerald A. Renner award for its religion reporting on the faith lives of Republican presidential candidates.

In addition to his commentary award, Gibson also won the Supple Religion Feature Writer of the Year award, while taking second among Religion Reporters for large newspapers and wire services.

Longtime religion reporter Paul Carson was honored with a lifetime achievement award.

Founded in 1949, the Religion Newswriters Association is the primary organization for religion reporters and journalists, and is dedicated to “raising the standards of religion newswriting in the secular world of newspapers, magazines, wire services, and news agencies.”

For a full list of this year’s award finalists and winners, visit the Religion News Writers 2012 contest page

Editor's Note: A previous version of this story incorrectly reported the number of copies sold of The Emerging Catholic Church. It has been updated to reflect the latest sales figures. 

Support independent reporting on important issues.

 One family graphic_2016_250x103.jpg

Show comments

NCR Comment code: (Comments can be found below)

Before you can post a comment, you must verify your email address at
Comments from unverified email addresses will be deleted.

  • Be respectful. Do not attack the writer. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the original idea will be deleted. NCR reserves the right to close comment threads when discussions are no longer productive.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report abuse" button. Once a comment has been flagged, an NCR staff member will investigate.

For more detailed guidelines, visit our User Guidelines page.

For help on how to post a comment, visit our reference page.

Commenting is available during business hours, Central time, USA. Commenting is not available in the evenings, over weekends and on holidays. More details are available here. Comments are open on NCR's Facebook page.